Lambda Sigma Home Page


Presidents Conference to be held in Pittsburgh

This fall's Presidents Conference will be held in Pittsburgh Sept. 23-25 with the Lambda Sigma chapters there making the arrangements under the direction of Tyler Henson , the National Board's Coordinator of National Conferences and Meetings. Details for the weekend which will include a service project on Friday evening, have been sent to all chapter participants, and to date, all chapters plan to send representatives.

During the conference presidents or their representatives, along with selected advisors and board members, will have an overall orientation of the expectations for all chapters for the upcoming year. Afternoon breakout sessions will address specific questions the presidents might have including ways to raise funds and how to develop effective programming. The presidents will be given the dates for all required forms for 2017

During an afternoon session, delegates will elect a new student member to the National Board. Those who plan to run should come to the meeting prepared to explain why they would like to serve and confirm that they will be willing to attend the summer board meetings and fall Presidents Conferences over the next two years. Student Rep Tiffany Miller will coordinate the election. Questions? Call her at 931-703-1496.

Several key announcements will be made during the conference, including new National Board members and updoming changes due to retirements of current members.

During the Saturday evening banquet, the presidents will experience a typical induction ceremony and chapters earning the coveted Honor Chapter designation will be announced and presented certificates by Dr. Denise Rode, current Lambda Sigma National President. Other awards will be presented, includidng the Outstandidng Chapter and Most Improved Chapter. The scholarship winners selected earlier this year will also be announced.

Honor Cords Available
Many chapters are now providing honor cords for their graduating seniors to be worn at graduation. Any chapters interestged in ordering these blue and gold cords may do so by contacting the following company: Schoen Trimming and Cord Co. Inc at or by calling 212-255-3949. Chapters should check with their respective institutions for any regulations on wearing cords at their graduation ceremonies.

Professor of the Month Mugs Available
Blue ceramic mugs with the Greek letters Lambda Sigma and "Excellence in Teaching" in gold letters are available for $7.50 each. Many chapters conduct a Professor of the Month project to recognize outstanding teachers on their campuses. These mugs are available for this and any other projects to promote the ideals of Lambda Sigma Society. Chapters should contact John Hauser, National Vice President, to place orders. His contact information is listed on the web page.





Lambda Sigma National Honor Society